Click the image to find out more

MATCH REVIEWS – By Laurie Williams


Hill End, like four other clubs are all on eight points after the second round of matches. The Hillmen disposing of Boolarra to retain the Hambone Trophy in no uncertain terms in a one sided effort. Former Boolarra ace Chase Saunders gave his former team a lesson in goalkicking with a nine goal haul as Hill End rocketed to a 116 point win. Hill End set the pattern early and a 5-5 first term gave them a good stepping stone for the remainder of the game. A nine goal second term left no doubt as to the outcome of the match as Hill End dominated the game. Boolarra however slowed the Hillmen down in the third and sloppy play at times resulted in only a 2-5 bonus for Hill End. Ambu Uliando was again a star for the Hillmen with his bustling, get the ball attitude, getting possession a lot but at times his disposal wasn’t up to expectations. Chase Saunders was the big headache for Boolarra as he wasted three opponents during the course of the game. His tally may have been more but a couple of shots went the wrong side of the sticks. Boolarra are now in a position where they have had two severe beatings which hasn’t gone down too well with the faithful and unless they can turn around their game then it’s going to be a hard road ahead. For Hill End, two wins is a good start, best were Ambu, Bayley Paul, Nathan Balfour and Luke Tumino while for Boolarra none struggled harder than Matt Windsor, Justin Emery, Tom Reiske and Brendan Mason.


With two more scoring shots (17-15) Yinnar still couldn’t get close enough to Morwell East to cause any problems as the East ran out winners by 28 points. Morwell East showed greater accuracy on the scoreboard whereas Yinnar kicked and hoped that goals would come. The Magpies had no one up forward to convert their opportunities while the East had Nick Grainger up front who finished with three goals. The battle was in the ruck where the big boys Braydon Darby-Lock and Yinnar’s Matt Williams competed for the spoils. Morwell East had six goals on the board before Yinnar broke the line with Josh Bugeja scoring their first, but there wasn’t going to be many ahead for the Magpies as they struggled to kick five for the match.  At times Morwell East were their own enemy with over use of handball and short, casual kicks but still had enough for a comfortable win. Frankie Marks finished with three goals while their best was Joel Soutar and Rob Michaelides.


Thorpdale’s first trip over the hills to Meeniyan wasn’t a successful venture as the home side MDU ran out winners by 63 points. Keeping Thorpdale scoreless in the first term was good defensive football yet the Demons struggled to only put on 2-2 after Thorpdale applied the pressure. Even the second quarter was close with MDU outscoring the Blues 3-1 to 2-0 and the half time break it was a 21 point lead to MDU. The home side got their act together in the third with five goals, Jake McMillan playing a big part up forward, Thorpdale couldn’t match MDU in the third term who rattled on 5-4 to 1-3. The final term produced a goalfest with nine majors MDU tracking six while Thorpdale had practice with three. Jake McMillan scored four for the Demons. Dean Thorson, Jarrod Hoy, Connor Krohn and Sam Wilson got the nod as best while for Thorpdale James Durkin, Deen Allen, Jarrah Burgess and Trent Gibson all tried hard.


Mirboo North retained the Ron Skinner Memorial trophy after their big win over Newborough, the Tigers running out winners by 103 points. Josh Taylor’s boys have now two big scoring wins and are looking good at the moment. Half the team scored goals with Riley Gillian top scoring with five and Ben Campbell four in the big tally. The Tigers broke away from Newborough in the second term after a tug of war in the first where it was difficult for both teams to score. The “stand” rule again featured as players forgot to stand still on the mark. Mirboo North jumped away in the second with the small men of Hudson Kerr and Jacob Blair doing a lot of the legwork with the Tigers putting on 6-5 but at times inaccuracy in front cost them important goals. Newborough were struggling and forgot to score in the third while the Tigers kicked away with a further six goals. Newborough produced a couple of token goals in the last but were steamrolled by the Tigers who added five more to run out winners 19-18 to 4-5. Hudson Kerr, Jeremy Salinger, Jacob Blair and Ben Campbell all getting votes while for Newborough Joel Mitchell, Ryan Louch, Josh Bland and coach Peter Ainsworth were voted as best.


Tarwin produced the big surprise of the round by beating 2019 Grand Finalist Stony Creek by 57 points. Tarwin who finished on the bottom in 2019 hadn’t beaten Stony Creek since August 8, 2017. Revenge was sweet for the Sharks who were humiliated by Stony Creek in 2018 by 15 and 20 goals in their two matches. Tarwin gave their home crowd something to crow about with the home side taking the early lead to bang on 6-6 in a sometimes wasteful display of forward line football, but it was enough to create a good buffer for the rest of the match.  The Sharks carried on to the final siren with a good win over their rivals. Dylan Garnham with his four goals also got BOG to lead the attack, Julian Patterson also bagged a quad. Other good players for Tarwin were Matt Williams, Ben Allen and Matt Zagni. For Stony Creek, the appropriate Tom Stone got the votes with good support from Hayden Funnell, Sam Marriot and Jakeb Pronk. Tarwin 14-15 d Stony Creek 6-6


Fish Creek had to fight bard to beat a determined Toora side. The Roos were behind three quarters of the match but produced the goods where it counted in a last quarter fightback. The Roos banged on 3-6, a poor return but good enough to snatch a 14 point win over Toora who ran out of puff after leading at three-quarter by 3 points. Seven players shared the goals for Fish Creek with Justin Smith and Gus Staley both kicking two each.  For Toora, three players Lockie Dobson, Nathan Herrington and Luke Manders all scored two each. Gus Staley, Brady Mitchell and Tom Cameron were voted as best for Fish Creek while for Toora Ben East, Oscar Cashmore and Tom Keily were given as best.

Shared by Gippsland Footy admin. Any factual errors or copyright breaches in this post are unintentional and should be brought to the attention of Gippsland Footy. Any factual errors in any shared links should be brought to the attention of the original poster.

Click the images to visit our social media platforms: